National Anthem Contest

The Nebraska Sports Council conducts a state-wide competition to determine the singers of the Star Spangled Banner at the†Opening Ceremonies, which will be held at Seacrest Field in†Lincoln on Friday, July 20. This year, auditions were open to groups of two or more.

Contestants had to upload one†audition video†to†YouTube.† A†judging panel determined the three†group finalists. Finalists videos have†been posted†on the Cornhusker State Games Facebook page and the group with the most votes will be†announced on April 30th, and will perform at the Opening Ceremonies on Friday, July 20 at Seacrest Field!

2018†Winner: Nebraska Brass Band, Omaha, NE

The Nebraska Brass Band has won the 2018 Cornhusker State Games (CSG) National Anthem Contest and will perform the Anthem at the Gamesí Opening Ceremonies on Friday, July 20 at Seacrest Field in Lincoln.

The Nebraska Brass Band is an instrumental group based in Omaha, founded in 2017 and conducted by Glenn Greet, a Yorkshire, England native with a rich background in brass banding, including performances at Buckingham Palace and Westminster Abbey. The group currently has 35 band members who work and/or study in Nebraska communities.

Their next scheduled public performance is June 7 at the Glen Miller Festival in Clarinda, IA. Those interested can find more information on the NEBB website at

2017 Finalists:Nathan Bonsall, Ava Gropp, Kristen Hoffart, Ali Marie Pluff, and Evan Wohlers.

2017 Winner: Nathan Bonsall, Kearney, NE

2016 Winners
Major Minor 3 Earns Right to Perform National Anthem

McCook Trio Wins Statewide Contest

Cornhusker State Games (CSG) officials have announced Major Minor 3 as the CSG 2016 National Anthem Contest winner. †The group will perform the Star Spangled Banner at the CSG Opening Ceremonies on Friday, July 15 at Lincolnís Seacrest Field.

Major Minor 3 is a vocal trio from McCook, Nebraska. Members include Shelby Stevens, 16; Riley Rambali, 17; and Tyler Rambali, 20. †The group earned more than 900 Facebook likes for their YouTube audition video.†

Other finalists in the statewide search, which was sponsored by Amigos/Kings Classic, included runner-up CVC Menís Chorus, †Ex Amino Quartet, the Nebraska Menís Christian Chorus and the Accidentals. The top five videos were chosen for the public-voting phase on the CSG Facebook page.†

2015 FINALISTS:†David Ehrke, Alma, NE; Teena Handline, Glen Mills, PA; Jaden Nandkeshwar, Layton, UT; Andrew Portnoy, Austin, TX; Marlana VanHoose, Denver, KY

2015 WINNER:†David Ehrke, Alma, NE

2014 FINALISTS:†Britan Blair, Ord; Kaitlyn Ericson, York; Nanette Jansen, Pierce; Sheina Reagan, Stratton; Ether Saure, Lincoln; Jessica Vogt, Omaha

2014 WINNER:†Ether Saure, Lincoln

2013 FINALISTS:†Lindsay Ahrens, Omaha; Payton Eyler, Fremont; Wade Kendle, Lincoln; Abby Nelson, Lincoln; Nathan Schreiter, Hallam

2013 WINNER:†Payton Eyler, Fremont

2012 FINALISTS:†Emily Wood, Blair;†Nathan Schreiter, Hallam;†Jessica Poskochil, Bennet;†Abigail Nelson, Lincoln and†Laynee Woodward, Minden.

2012 WINNER:†Laynee Woodward

2011 WINNER: The Bathtub Dogs